//
you're reading...
Asia eats, korea eats

july 9: the prettiest wallpaper and coffee bingsoo

Wallpaper has got to be one of the prettiest places I’ve been to in Korea, and I’ve seen a lot of cute cafes/bistros/stores here. It’s the biggest cafe that I’ve been to, with 2 floors and a 3rd one in the works. It doesn’t look like much from the outside,

looks like a warehouse, actually.

but the people who work here have kept the old, vintage feel and just added a few bits and pieces to give it a quirky, old-school feel.

hand-drawn doodles cover each of the window panes

lots of natural lighting inside - makes for good photographing

The funny thing about Wallpaper is that there actually isn’t any wallpaper – all of the walls are either whitewashed with murals painted over them or covered with bricks. There are also huge windows that let in sunlight to give a warm, cozy feeling. Definitely makes you wanna stay here and just chat with your family.

Seriously, who knew that peeling paint could have so much character? All of the old, chipped wood makes this place that much more lovable.

Unlike most bistroish cafes, Wallpaper is located in an out of the way street instead of busy shopping district, so it has a lot more property than most places. It overlooks a pond and there’s a trail around it you can walk if you want a breath of fresh air.

picture of wallpaper from across the pond

wooded trail

I’ve been calling Wallpaper a cafe, but it’s more than that; it’s actually more of a bistro. It does have pastries and coffee, but there’s a brunch menu as well, and pizza, sandwiches, salads, waffles and bagels area all served.

packaged baked goods for sale; cookies, brownies, bread, and the like.

Since the brunch special was available, that’s what almost everyone ordered (everyone being my mom, my sister, my aunts, my great-aunts, my grandma and my cousins. pretty much everyone who went out for the lunch at Got Dal Leem). We could choose from either waffles, french toast, or bagel and it came with a salad, bacon, sausage and a drink on the side.

waffle set with taters, sausage, bacon, and mixed greens salad

bagel set: blueberry bagel with blueberry cream cheese, bacon, sunnyside-up egg and salad

The brunch menu didn’t really appeal to me though; luckily we came late enough that the kitchen was just getting fired up. After a little wait, the full menu was open and I took my pick from the salad list.

smoked salmon: mixed greens salad with shaved radish and beets, sprouts, and smoke salmon with onions and a sweet dressing

Wallpaper gives free coffee and tea refills, so we stayed here for the looongest time. Once the adults were all talked out, my mom, my sister and I went to Terrace Street since we had never really explored it thoroughly. We¬†traipsed past more cafes and clothing boutiques before finally deciding that we needed to take a break from the heat with a bingsoo. Because we had already eaten at Cafe 121, we just settle for Paris Crossaint. I was a little wary of it at first since it was a chain bakery and in the same company as Paris Baguette (which I can never forgive for having such mediocre bingsoo when they make it look so good on the picture. DAMN YOU FALSE ADVERTISEMENT). But Paris Crossaint is a classic Korean bakery and it definitely went beyond my expectations. The breads there were AMAZING (Koreans are actually really good with baking pastries) but I wasn’t allowed to take any pictures :(. No one said anything about taking pictures of the food we paid money for though, so here are photos of the bingsoo we ate.

coffee bingsoo topped with candied pecans, granola, chocolate and red bean

instead of drizzling condensed milk on the ice, they used milk coffee. LOOK AT THE DELICIOUS LAYERS OF DILUTED CAFFEINE. YUMM.

uberly-fine shaved ice. it was like eating snow. the fluffy, soft kind that you can't really make snowballs with.

15 minutes later…

yes, strength to resist the 95+ degree heat is restored!

Man, they just don’t have any bad bingsoo in Korea (with the exception of Paris Baguette’s). After cooling down with bingsoo, Calynn and I noticed that Paris Crossaint also sold macarons. Never having eaten one before, I decided to split a vanilla with my sister.

i think macaroons are supposed to be lighter than this one; the paris crossaint macaroon was quite chewy. the flavor was really good though - a true, vanilla beany taste. thanks for the correction, euna. turns out that a macarOn (one O) is indeed chewy, like this one.

After finishing off the macaroon, we went on our last E-Mart grocery-shopping trip :(. Oh, great retailer of everything that I might ever need in my entire life, how I’ll miss you…

Ooof, looks like I’m slowly making progress with the posts; I did 2 today. I only have 2 more days until I leave for America – eep!!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “july 9: the prettiest wallpaper and coffee bingsoo

  1. quirky food fact of the day! macaroons are light and fluffy because the what you ate was not a macarOOn but a macarOn :O one “o”. its kinda gay i know. a macaron is a french cookie with a slighty mushy/chewy filling sandwiched between 2 airy crisp cookies. a macaroon is fluffy meringue like cookie made with nuts and coconut :)

    Posted by euna | August 10, 2010, 11:55 am
  2. Hi! Any idea where Wallpaper is located? Or how i can get there? I’ve tried to google it, but I can’t seem to find anything :( I’ll be going to Seoul next week, and i’d really love to visit this place! Thank you!

    Posted by looknookhook | July 19, 2013, 10:03 am

Leave a Reply

In the Past…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

