//
you're reading...
home eats

A PB&B, Paninified

I’m going to be honest with you guys.

I an not a jelly person.

Maybe it’s because I haven’t had any well-made jams in my life, but I can’t really stand blobs of jiggly fruit preserves. I find them too sugary and insubstantial and unsatisfying; I’d rather put smashed strawberries in my sandwich rather than strawberry jam.

Hrm. A dilemma indeed.

Luckily, one of my yellow, speckled, curved friends came to save the day.

DSC_3096

which banana does not belong..?

Frankly, I don’t like bananas much either. Not when they’re by themselves at least. They’re too… banana-ey (amazing justification, I know).

But I enjoy them very much in cereal. Or in a banana soft serve. Or in banana bread. You get the picture.

They ALSO happen to be my favorite thing to eat with peanut butter.

I mean, you can always just slather on some PB on a banana and call it a day, but why do that when you can get all fancy-schmancy (alrite, it’s not THAT fancy…) with your bananners and make them UBER delicious?

Allow me to show you how.

You will need:

DSC_3008

Breads (preferably a heartier variety – I’m using Bread Alone’s Whole Grain Health Bread), banana (note: bananas are ripe when they start to get brown spots – not before!) and peanut butter.

I start by spreading the peanut butter first.

DSC_3036

Note how I put the PB on the larger slice of bread; you get more peanutiness per square inch that way. :)

DSC_3039

Then I sliced up half a banana,

DSC_3058

and placed the slices on the PB-ed bread (more stickage).

DSC_3061

Upon closing my sammich, I put it in one of these:

DSC_3012

That actually turns into a griddle/panini press if you flip the black parts on either side.

DSC_3017

MAGIC!

DSC_3069

If you don’t have one of these, you can always toast your bread in a toaster/oven. Or you can get to pans over the stove, and stack them with the sandwich in between.

But if you do, you can just press the top down on the sandwich, and let the panini-magic happen.

DSC_3073

SQUISH

There will be sizzling happening. And browning. And flattening. And delicious-ifying.

When mine was done, it looked like this:

DSC_3077

Lightly toasted on the outside, with perfectly warmed innards. The bananas were softened and starting to caramelize. The peanut butter had melted and glooped into and around the bread and the ‘nanas.

It was….

DSC_3090

PB&B perfection.

I ate this for breakfast today.

I want to eat another one for a snack, but I’m trying to resist.

We’ll see how that goes.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

In the Past…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

