//
you're reading...
home eats

s’all greek to me

I’ve been craving Greek food lately. But it’s not just the usual craves – it’s more like “OMYGOSH THERE’S A YAWNING HOLE IN MY STOMACH THAT WON’T FILL NO MATTER WHAT I STUFF IN MY MOUTH” craves. Thankfully I was satiated today by a trip to…

THE GREEK VILLAGE!

It’s a small Greek restaurant in Northvale, but it’s known to be one of the best in Bergen County. So my mom, Calynn and I headed over there for an early dinner and promptly stuffed ourselves. I didn’t have my camera on me, so I couldn’t take any decent pictures. Not only that, but my Blackberry had died, so I couldn’t even take crappy pictures. I apologize for the lack of color in this entry :( I swear I’ll try harder next time.

BUT back to the food – I ordered a small lentil soup which was full of lentil-y goodness,  and a plate of assorted appetizers called a pikilia. It was basically a huge platter of different Mediterranean dips like revithosalata (very similar to hummus in taste and texture), taramosalata (caviar dip), skordalia (potato & garlic dip), melitzanosalta (dip o’ roasted eggplant) and my absolute favorite, tzatziki which is made out of yogurt, cucumber, & garlic. Yums.
Of course, all of these have to be spread on pita bread fresh out of the oven and drizzled with the barest hint of olive oil. I’m telling you, in that moment, my life was complete…

But then our entrée came, which was basically fresh grilled seafood over a Greek salad. And that was pretty darn tasty too – the shrimp, calmari, and octopus were all perfectly cooked and the salad was fresh and crisp with the feta cheese giving it a nice tang. But I’m telling you, the octapodi is really the star of the show. I don’t know how Greek chefs do it, but they must know how to change the protein make up of these little 8-legged critters, because these octopi weren’t chewy at all. You know how usually chewing on an octopus feels like you have piece of a garden hose in your mouth? But these were softer than the most tender piece of beef. SO GOOD.

I really, really enjoy Greek food because I looooove seafood. And as cultural cuisines go, Greek food is one of the healthiest. Ever heard of the Mediterranean diet? Lotsa veggies, olive oil, whole grains, and lean seafood protein. How good does that sound?

Anyways, I’m moving backwards here, but I did get pictures of my breakfast:

yumms..

Red and pearl quinoa mixed with a little bit of milk and a sprinkle of cinnamon heated in the microwave for a minute. Then I crushed some walnuts into it for the crunch factor, and I added blackberries and strawberries. It’s so good…

there are walnuts in there, i swear.

Unlike most grains like oats and rice, quinoa is a complete protein with a balanced set of essential amino acids. Plus, they have little curly tails – it’s really cute :D

I also had an apple on my way to school, and for lunch I had a grilled chicken – mixed greens – provolone cheese – tomato – avocado sandwich on whole wheat artisan bread. Whew, that’s a mouthful.

After my Greek restaurant pig-out session, I decided to eat some berries:

That’s another thing I love about spring – fresh, delicious berries start popping up everywhere. And they’re just so tasty, bursting with sweet juicy goodness. I end up devouring several bushels (probably) a week.

Oh yeah, and I ordered a new lens for my D80, so better pictures should be coming up soon. To take all these pictures with my current lens requires me to step about 10 feet back and turn on my macro mode – hopefully my new Nikkors will help. I bought them today, and Amazon tells me they’re supposed to come by Wednesday. Technology these days…

And a piece of totally unrelated food news, but a reason to celebrate nonetheless – I went to the orthodontist today and they took the molding of my teeth to make my retainers. That means I’m FINALLY getting my braces off – on May 2nd, to be exact. Huzzah!

Discussion

One thought on “s’all greek to me

  1. I really want to try quinoa…

    Posted by euna | April 19, 2010, 10:13 pm

Leave a Reply

In the Past…

