//
you're reading...
home eats

ungrateful sisters make me sad :(

Did you know that EVERY DAY I take the time to make my dear, beloved sister breakfast and lunch?? I mean, how many teenagers do you know that are willing to take the time out of their busy mornings to pack their siblings lunch? And I do this every day. Without fail. When I could be spending this time studying, or sleeping in.

But do I ever get any gratitude? Nooooo. Never. Ever. EVER.

In fact, I was up at 2 a.m. today, making our lunches because I realized I hadn’t done it before I went to sleep. It was our usual grilled chicken – avocado – tomato – provolone cheese – greens lettuce.

sammich ingredients

Not only did I pack every single shred of romaine lettuce with tender, loving care, I actually stabbed myself while cutting up the avocado and actually ended up shedding blood. FOR MY SISTER’S SANDWICH.

tupperware!

And I’m the one who makes sure that all the ingredients in our sandwiches are healthy and nutritious and chock full of stuff thats good for you. Like lean protein from the chicken so Calynn stays full longer. And healthy monounstaurated and polyunsaturated fats from the avocado that lower bad cholesterol and raise good cholesterol. And vitamins and antioxidants like lycopene from the tomato. And you’ll notice that I pack everything away neatly in little Tupperwares because if I make the sandwiches beforehand, they’d get all soggy. AND WHO LIKES SOGGY BREAD?? Not I. And I’m pretty sure Calynn doesn’t either.

So you’d think that after all this hard work, I’d get some sort of gratitude. But the reality is, nary a word of gratitude has come from my sister’s mouth. In fact, today she came up today and yelled, “Why’d you make me a sandwich?? I don’t need a sandwich today!” Which made my sandwich ingredients (and me) feel all forlorn and lonesome and unwanted.

Sigh. Such is the life of an older sister.

I toast our bread in the morning too. I prefer whole wheat multi-grain artisan bread because I like all the different seeds and grains on the inside.

lots of fiber, this has

You’ll notice I cut my bread reaaally thin because I like the crackery crunch when I bite into it. Plus, I toast it for even more crispness.

But I take the time to get my sister a different type of whole wheat bread (the usual loafy kind) that’s more uniform in texture because that’s all she’ll eat. Calynn says she doesn’t like all the seedy stuff. But that’s where the bran (fiber) and germ (nutrients) are!!

And I make sure to lean our breads against each other (in a tent shape, like shown above) as soon as they come out of the toaster so they’ll maintain their crispness.

Sigh. Well, that’s just part of my morning routine. I always make sure to brew coffee for my mom and myself as well. I’ve been drinking a Starbucks Colombian coffee that we got in a trial-size as a present.

fancyschmancy coffee

I usually use the Dunkin’ Donuts medium roast coffee, but I wanted to try this out.  I’m not a coffee aficionado, but this is pretty darn tasty. I add a lot of milk to my coffee though, to negate the calcium loss.

And I always cut up an apple and wash berries for Calynn’s breakfast so she doesn’t go hungry. See how caring I am?? Without me, she’d be missing the most important meal of the day!

Well anyways, now you know what I usually eat for breakfast and lunch. Another part of my routine is a snack that I put together right after school, because around 3:30 p.m., I get kind of hungry.

My snacks will usually vary depending on the season, but today I had a granola – yogurt – blueberry bowl. Yumm..

nomnom

I don’t know if you can tell, but there are 2 different types of yogurt in there. One’s a plain non-fat regular yogurt but the other is skyr. Skyr is a strained Icelandic yogurt – it’s really similar to Greek yogurt in texture and in taste (meaning that it’s really thick and pretty tart). But the name is a lot cooler, right? Skyyyyyrr. SKYYYYYYYYYYYYRRRR!!!

Ahem. Anyways, like Greek yogurt, because skyr is strained, it has more than twice the protein per serving than regular yogurt. But regular yogurt has more calcium, so I try to rotate between them every other day or so.

You guys know my obsession with berries, but I also go nuts for granola. (Haha, pun intended..?) Especially if it’s homemade, like the one in the picture. You know, as in homemade by me.

Yeah, well, aren’t I special? But really, once you try homemade granola, you’ll never go back to storebought. Since I mix and bake it right in the comforts of my own home, I get to control all the ingredients. That means that there are no artificial chemicals or preservatives, and it’s never overly sweet! The batch that I’m eating right now is made up of 5 different kinds of rolled grains (oat, kamut, wheat, rye, barley, & triticale), flax seeds, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, pecans, and almonds. If that doesn’t pack a protein, fiber and nutrient punch, I don’t know what does! And it’s sooo good – plus, there isn’t any sugar in it. I used honey, apple sauce, and brown rice syrup to sweeten the mix.

look at all that crunchy, nutty goodness

How good does that look??

I realized that I need to work on shortening my posts. But I just have so much to write! Must. Be. More. Concise. So I’ll end it here. Kbye.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “ungrateful sisters make me sad :(

  1. wow eunice. this is kind of amazing. a nutritionist indeed.

    but don’t worry. i’m sure there will be a day when calyn will remember your lunches and start shedding tears because of it.

    Posted by peter woo | April 20, 2010, 7:55 pm
  2. Yeah, ditto to Peter – kind of amazing.

    Love what you have with your blog so far – totally subscribed to it with google reader. =) And if you ever want a fancy schmancy top image, I can try to do something for ya, haha.

    And I think you’re a great older sister – she’s going to miss you when you’re in college and she has to make her own granola. And then she’ll be grateful. =P

    Posted by Brooke | April 20, 2010, 9:31 pm
  3. Snap another person that uses the word “aficionado” in their blogs! I forget who the other person was… Oh yeah, it was nobody.

    But on a more serious note, I liked how you wrote “I’m pretty sure Calynn doesn’t either.” So you’re not sure. =)

    OK for serious. I enjoy your blogs very much. It inspires me to eat healthier. Although when I do try, hamburgers end up invading my dreams. It’s more like nightmares really.

    And I’d stay away from coffee. I hear it’s bad for ya. Depletes all the vitamins and anti-oxidants you’ve worked so hard to get in your system.

    (OK that last line may have been serious, but I laughed while I wrote it.) I can’t wait to read your next post!

    Posted by Eugene | April 21, 2010, 4:24 am
    • you sound like you’re trying to discourage me from blogging.. -o-
      & too much coffee might be bad, but it’s actually pretty good for you in moderation – helps you destress and stay focused
      so i drink about a cup a day.
      not like a certain pastor i know who seems to gulp it down by the barrel…

      Posted by minyungee | April 21, 2010, 5:53 am
      • i said i enjoyed your blogs very much! made me smile many times. you are 100X a better sibling than i was to my sister. so kudos to you minyung.

        i try to stay away from too much coffee these days. maybe 1-4 cups a day. so no more 8+cups. hahaha

        continue to be inspiring!

        Posted by Eugene | April 21, 2010, 11:03 pm

Leave a Reply

In the Past…

