//
you're reading...
home eats

roasting o’er an open oven

Actually, not really. I roasted cashews and almonds today in my little baby toaster oven. It’s very convenient for stuffs like this.

crunchy, nutty nomming soon to commence

Almonds are ridiculously good for you. Well, most nuts are, but almonds especially. Even though they’re high in fat and calories, it’s mostly monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats (the same kind found in olive oil, salmon etc.) that help lower your bad cholesterol. But not only does this nut help prevent heart disease, studies have shown that eating almonds can help you lose weight. Snacking on nuts is a great idea – because they’re so full of protein (which take longer to break down than carbs), they prevent overeating and you feel fuller longer after eating them. This also helps prevent diabetes because it reduces the rise in sugar and insulin levels after meals.

Is there a reason not to eat almonds? (Unless you’re allergic to them… then that just sucks.)

And trust me, they taste sooo much better roasted than raw. You just pop them into a 350° oven until they’re a toasty brown (about 7 minutes, give or take). Roasting them brings out so much of the almonds’ flavor.. it’s nutty and a little sweet and really crunchy..

Ahem. Anyways, pretty much all nuts taste better when they’re roasted; it’s almost like applying heat unlocks the real flavor of the nut. So I pretty much do this with all nuts I eat, including…

Cashews!

cashew pieces, instead of whole ones - they're cheaper

Like almonds, cashews are rich in protein and good fats. But they’re also chock full of copper which is a mineral essential for energy production and  flexible blood vessels, bones, and joints.They also have a lot of magnesium, which balances calcium to regulate nerve and muscle tone. Jeezes, all these nuts are like, superfoods.

I eat these little guys everyday – they’re so addicting..

Anyways let’s fast-forward (or rewind? since it already happened?) a couple hours. For dinner, my mommy made  jjambbong; the spicy, seafoody noodle dish that you find at Chinese-Korean restaurants. ‘Cept this one was homemade with bunches of tender, loving care, so my mom loaded it up with vegetables and gave it to me sans noodles:

no msg to be found in this bowl!

Those long white things are mung beans. Other ingredients include: squash, bok choy, mini-squid things, shrimp, scallion, and mussels. I’m sure there’s stuff I’m missing, but all you guys need to know was that it was really good- you know, in that spicy, burning, OMG-my-tastebuds-are-on-fire-but-I-can’t-stop-eating kind of way. Am I masochistic if I like foods that do that to me..?

Well, I’ll end my post here because my previous one was so ridiculously long.. I’m still trying to get down the whole short-and-sweet concept of blogging.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “roasting o’er an open oven

  1. Thanks for the tips! I shall munch on almonds. THey are quite tasty. Any info/tips on pistachios?

    Posted by Eugene | April 27, 2010, 2:51 am
  2. That third photograph is gorgeous. Good job. What camera do you use?

    Hm, I think it’d be pretty cool if you could put up recipes for some of the things you create. I know I’d really appreciate it. :)

    Posted by Brooke | April 27, 2010, 7:49 am
    • thankss :) i use a nikon d80. it’s actually my mom’s, but she has no idea how to use it so i’m usually the one who takes the photos in my family
      haha actually posting recipes was something that i was planning on doing. most of the stuff i make is pretty basic, but if i actually cook/bake i’ll try to do it!

      Posted by minyungee | April 27, 2010, 4:49 pm
  3. I ate almonds today :D
    On my bday dinner we can have matching momofuku posts <3

    Posted by Euna | April 27, 2010, 11:13 pm
  4. ban cameras? fuck that. ill sneak and take ninja pics without flash

    Posted by Euna | April 30, 2010, 4:51 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: granola & soup v.2.0 « nuts n' berries - May 3, 2010

Leave a Reply

In the Past…

