//
you're reading...
home eats, NJ eats

organica’s organics

My mom couldn’t make me dinner today, and there was really nothing in the house for me to throw together for a quick meal.

When in need of a healthy meal, head to Organica!! So that’s what we did.

Organica is the organic (duh..) store where I work every Thursday and Friday. It’s a small, family-run store, but they have a great variety of organic products and produce, as well as a huge section for vitamins and such. I learned a lot about organic stuff just by stocking the shelves there. If you’re a vegan/vegetarian/health-nut living in the Valley, Organica is the grocery store for you.

And it’s even better when you get the 30% employee’s discount :D

So at the back of the store, there’s a deli kind of area that sells a whole bunch of salads, parfaits, baked goods, sandwiches, and hot meals (all organic, of course). There were so many choices, but I managed to limit myself to 2 things:

The vegetarian salad:

mesclun greens, radicchio, cherry tomatoes, balsamic-vinegar dressing...

I almost always get this salad because I just can’t resist how healthy it is. And all the different textures and tastes make for a really interesting and yummy salad.

I suck at tossing salads, so my dinner wasn’t mixed very well…I ate all the larger pieces of greens at the top first and slowly worked my way through the smaller stuff later.

sunflower seeds, sunflower sprouts, carrot, and chickpeas

Yum.

I also got one of these because I wanted to try it:

collard green wrapped around...

It was actually really similar to a dolmas (i.e. stuffed grape leaves).

brown rice, sautéed carrots & onions

It was actually really good – it kind of tasted like mandoo. Similar seasonings, maybe?

And today, I finally ate the last of my homemade pita bread (the 2nd batch). Knowing that my whole-grain carbohydrate supply was running low, I picked up this loaf last time I was working at Organica:

holy bread...?

I’ve never tried this brand before, but I got it partly because the sprouted grains & seeds appealed to me, and partly because I was amused by the name.

They actually put a Bible verse on the plastic wrap:

“And God said, ‘Behold, I have given you every herb bearing seed, which is upon the face of all the earth, and ever tree, in the which is the fruit of a tree yielding seed; to you it shall be for meat.'” Gen. 1:29

I laughed out loud when I saw this. But not only is this bread holy, it’s also got a TON of different grains and seeds, like:

  • teff from Ethiopia
  • black quinoa from Peru
  • barley from Israel
  • brown rice & spelt from the Far East
  • amaranth & chia from Central and South America
  • soy from China
  • flax & rye from Northern Europe
  • corn from Mexico
  • millet from Africa
  • sesame seeds from the near East
  • pumpkin seeds from the Mediterranean
  • spring wheat & unprocessed bran from Montana
  • sunflower seeds from the Dakotas

Holy crap. That’s a lot. And you know how I like my variety, after waffling between 6 other types of bread, I chose this one.

It’s also made from sprouted grains and seeds, which makes it even better; sprouting increases the nutritional value of the ingredients and makes them more easily absorbed into the body.

I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m really excited to eat my sandwich tomorrow – is that weird? I really, really love whole-grains – I can’t believe I hated them as a kid. Whole-grain breads have so much more of a complex flavor then just plain ol’ white bread. I actually can’t stand the taste of Wonderbread now.

Ah, well. You live and you learn.

It’s getting pretty late, and I think it’s time to hit they hay. I’ll tell you guys how the bread tastes in my post tomorrow.

G’nite!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

In the Past…

