//
you're reading...
Asia eats, korea eats

back to the seoul

After a long, 14 hour flight, I can finally say I’M HERE. IN KOREA, THAT IS, THE MOTHERLAND.

I haven’t been here in 5 years, and I just have to say, I’m loving it here already. It’s only been 4 hours since the plane landed, but just looking at all the apartments and smelling the Korea smell brings back a whole tidal wave of nostalgic childhood memories.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. I left JFK airport at 12:30 AM on Tuesday, July 6th; I was dead tired and passed out as soon as I put on my seatbelt – I don’t even remember taking off -o-; I slept for probably for half the ride, which is a good thing, because I can’t stand long plane rides.

And it’s a good thing that I brought my healthy snacks because the food options weren’t that great; I was actually asleep for 2 of the 3 meals, but the one I was awake for… I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

calynn's lasagna

MMMM DOESN’T THAT LOOK DELICIOUS. I don’t know why Calynn would choose a Western dish when we’re taking Asiana, but I can say that this meal left much to be desired. My sister was actually still hungry after eating her dish and she managed to eat some of my mom’s and my dinners.

My mom’s lunch wasn’t that bad:

shrimp fried rice

Seems to be somewhat lacking in shrimp, but my mom said it was alright. At least it’s more nutritious than my sister’s lasagna. You can see some of the side dishes that came with it – crossaint, fruit, and yogurt, with butter for the bread and gochujang for the fried rice.

I actually requested a meal that had been served previous to this one – the one I missed because I was sleeping. The stewardess was kind enough to heat it up for me.

bibimbap & soba

Now, isn’t that impressive for an airplane meal? Assorted vegetables and rice for the bibimbap, a soup, fruit, soba noodles with the broth, and kimchi. It tasted pretty good too. Lesson of the day? When riding on a Korean airline, GET KOREAN FOOD.

For the rest of the ride, I entertained myself by watching movies like “How to Train Your Dragon” and “Date Night.” In-flight entertainment for the win!

And before I knew it, we had arrived at Incheon. As soon as I got off the plane I could feel that we were in Korea – everything was cleaner, the cars were smaller, and the technology was better. It even smelled like Korea; I’m not sure how to describe it, but it’s like a mix of air-conditioning smell, new-car smell, with a little bit of pollution thrown in for good measure. Ah, there’s nothing like it :D

While heading over to pick up our luggage, my sister and I entertained ourselves with various things from the airport. Aren’t the flat escalator walkway things THE BEST?? You can walk so slow, but you’ll still go SOOO FAST. People stared at us because we were having too much fun -_-;

oh yeah, calynn

It was an hour drive from the airport to my maternal grandparents’ place; my aunt and uncle picked us up. This apartment is the place that my family will be staying at for the majority of our stay in Korea. Almost as soon as we arrived and greeted one another, my grandma and grandpa had an early morning breakfast set out for us – at 6 in the morning! Let me tell you, it was a VERY welcome sight.

a basic, homemade, family breakfast

Only 4 side dishes, not including the soup. But it was all delicious and made with lots of love (:

kimchi, jangjohreem, pickled cucumbers, and pickled radish

My family pretty much ate the plates clean. I haven’t had jangjohreem with quail eggs in such a long time T_T. It was so good…. For those of you who don’t know, jangjohreem is brisket braised in a thin soy sauce sauce with garlic, peppers, and egg. It’s another classic Korean dish and no one makes it like my grandma, not even my mom. It definitely had the g-ma touch.

That just about concludes what’s happened up until now! It looks like I’ll be able to update more often than I thought I’d be able to because there’s wifi at my grandparents’ apartment. I’ll just leave you guys with this picture that I took from the balcony – we’re on the 13th floor so there’s a pretty great view of all the surrounding apartments.

we ain't in the jerz anymore folks

My dad already has a BUNCH of stuff planned for today and tomorrow, so I’ll probably be updating soon, maybe even tonight. I’m off to take a shower and clean up, so I’ll see you guys later!!

Discussion

One thought on “back to the seoul

  1. that is a crazy impressive airplane meal… wow.

    Posted by Brooke | July 7, 2010, 12:03 pm

Leave a Reply

In the Past…

