//
you're reading...
Asia eats, korea eats

a regular, do-nothing day

For those of you who don’t know, midsummer was yesterday. You know, the day that’s in the MIDDLE of summer; also known as the HOTTEST DAY OF THE YEAR. And although the day’s come and gone, it’s actually still unbearable in Korea. All I’ve really been doing is staying at home and blogging, trying to stay cool in this sweltering heat. So I decided that I’d just post stuff about things that I do in a normal, bum-around day. These pictures are actually compiled from the past couple of days, but I just thought I’d post them all together in one generic post.

my breakfast on days when i don't eat a korean breakfast: 2 types of cereal with milk

I’m actually in love with the cereal in Korea. I never thought I’d be able to find such yummy, whole-grain cereals here; but with the new, healthy-food trend that’s been going on, there’s a lot to choose from in the supermarket.

mixed grain flakes + mixed grain puffs + nuts + milk = yummy in the tummy

My family also got a new rice cooker for my grandma, since the one she was using was pretty old.

a necessary piece of kitchen equipment in any korean household

mmm.. freshly made rice. it be nice and fluffy.

And this is what I had for lunch today:

freshly cooked buckwheat noodles; my grandma made enough to feed 10 people -o-;

using the new mini-mixer to make kong gooksoo broth - soybeans, regular and black sesame seeds, water

nutty, cool refreshment

served with ice cubes and topped with cucumber: my favorite summer eats

Since it’s summer break for students here in Korea, my little cousins are sleeping over my grandparents house today. Being the talented home cook that she is, my mom decided to make some tonkatsu for them.

pounding/tenderizing the pork

And after egg-washing and breading…

fry 'til golden and crispy

My cousins loved this; they devoured 5 pieces of pork in 10 minutes. Kids these days… –;

YES. I AM ALL CAUGHT UP IN MY BLOGGING. FINALLY. So I probably won’t be updating as much, but I’ll keep you guys posted if anything exciting happens.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “a regular, do-nothing day

  1. yo that pebbly cereal looks gooooooooot

    Posted by euna | July 20, 2010, 8:35 pm
  2. seriously i want to take you to allllllllllllllllllll the places i’ve eaten omggg.
    im so glad my girlfriends actually eat!

    Posted by euna | July 20, 2010, 11:10 pm

Leave a Reply

In the Past…

