//
you're reading...
Asia eats, korea eats

july 11: lotte world & the last supper

I’M HOMEEEEE!!!!

That’s right folks, I’m back in New Jersey for the first time in 5 weeks. Wow, it feels good to be back; I’ve been going around hugging all my furniture because I missed my house so much. I can’t believe how foreign my house looks to me right now…

I still have one more post left to upload from my second to last day in Korea (the last day we didn’t really do much except pack and go to the airport). I thought I’d get to doing it yesterday, but in all the last-minute confusion, I didn’t get around to it, so here it is.

The day before I left Korea, my friends (the few that were still in Korea) and I got together for a trip to Lotte World, which is pretty much THE amusement park to go to in Seoul. It also happens to be the largest indoor amusement park in the world, but that doesn’t stop it from leading to an outdoor attraction-ful area as well. Having both an indoor and outdoor play area makes Lotte World a pretty convenient place to go have fun in Korea’s temperamental climate.

let the fun begin.

on our way to the outdoor area

yup, rode the gyro drop

the indoor area

the world monorail. that we did not ride..

there's also an ice rink on the bottom floor. hi, skating people!

took a picture on the viking. the view's nice up there.

It was a good thing there’s an indoor, air-conditioned area in Lotte World. It was crazy hot outside that day, so me and my friends would go on the rides outside, then head back in when the heat got too overwhelming.

Although it was fun chilling with my friends, I had to leave early after a while because I had a family dinner to go to; it was our final night in Korea, so all of my aunts, uncles, cousins, and grandparents on my mom’s side got together for a dinner at my g-parents’ apartment. Here are a few shots of everyone enjoying each others’ company.

.. or not. the lone ranger strikes again.

they fight with love, trust me.

guess who?

oh snap. check out dem guns on yehjinee

koreans have yet to discover the incredible magic of sillybandz

when sillybandz attack!

hey, what's with that expression?

bonding over a gameboy ds.

brother and sister, now uncle and aunt

whee!!

father and son

Like last time, there was  A TON of homemade food:

good ol' fashioned egg rolls

savory buckwheat pancake..

with zucchini and kimchi

cuttlefish (aka nakjee)..

served with gochujang

grandma's homemade acorn mook

braised chicken and fatty pork

steamed shrimp

beheaded!

mmm... unagi...

All made by these hard-working ladies:

my aunt, my grandma, and my mom

nom. the food be good.

And stuff was ordered too.

japchae: clear noodles with sauteed vegetables

tangsooyook, pre-saucing

& post-saucing

nanjawanse

fried dumplings

innards!

& smaller, steamed dumplings

innards part 2! its green..

And these were brought by this guy:

thanks mr. delivery-guy!

It was a lot of good food, eaten with a wonderful family.

really, what more could you ask for?

We were all so damn full after our meal, but of course a Korean meal wouldn’t be complete without fruit at the end. Other people might eat cake, or cookies, or pie, but NOPE, WE EAT FRUIT. BECAUSE WE’RE COOL LIKE THAT.

bananers, kiwi, and plum

and if its summer, of course there has to be watermelon

all prepared by my mom, the master fruit cutter-upper

yehjinee' s nom.

hyunee's nom.

junyoungee doesn't get a nom.

but he gets one later. aww, look at his cute widdle smile.

I had a great time just hanging out with my family, and I honestly can’t think of a better way to spend my last night in Seoul. I love all my aunts, and uncles, and cousins, and my grandma and my grandpa; I miss them already.

family photo! minus me though, because i was taking the picture.. -o-;

I just want to thank my family for everything they’ve done for me in Korea; it’s because of them that we were able to enjoy ourselves so much.

LEE FAMILY.. FIGHTING!

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Fun In Seoul | Aroundtheworldin20days - July 31, 2014

Leave a Reply

In the Past…

