//
you're reading...
college

dinin’ on the dark side

So, as promised in my previous post, here are pictures of the “Dark” Side of campus.

this is the dorm where i live: keehn hall

Just imagine about a half-dozen similar-looking buildings scattered around a wooded glen, and that’s pretty much what the residence area of the Dark Side looks like.

these are the auditorium, dining hall, the art and music center which all happen to be connected

the infamous waffle ceilings of the dark side. apparently they help with the structural integrity of the buildings.

eating/relaxing area for when the weather's nice.

entering the dark side! the building on the right serves as a humanities/language building.

So as you can see in the pictures, the Dark Side has a lot of concrete, and the architecture is really streamlined and modern. I actually don’t know why it’s called “dark,” but it is kind of cool to have classes in these kind of buildings.

Now the stereotypical Dark Sider would be a vegetarian who’s into indie music. Of course not everyone’s like that, but from what I’ve seen that does hold true for about half the Dark-Siders, myself included. I’m an almost-vegetarian and yes, I do like my indie. But that doesn’t mean I’m a pot-smoking, peace-signing, hemp-wearing hippie, does it? (That’s an extreme generalization of what Dark Siders are expected to be like). It’s kind of cool because just by talking to a person for a few minutes, you can pretty much guess whether they’re from the Dark Side or the Light Side.

The Dark Side dining hall is called McEwen, and it’s more vegan/vegetarian-friendly than the Commons cafeteria on the Light Side.

Upon entering the cafeteria, you’re greeted with this giant pendulum-like thing. When I first saw it, my immediate thought was “WuttheheckisTHAT??”

the. rock. swing!

Apparently it’s a remnant of a long-ago physics project and yes, it really is a swing. But to make it work you have to get 4 people swaying back and forth with equal force and the right timing. Once you get it going, it lifts up and the chains cross, whipping you back and forth like crazy. I haven’t tried it myself, but I hear it gets really intense – as in holding-on -to-dear-life-and-praying-to God-you-don’t-fall-off intense. DON’T YOU WANT TO TRY IT???

Ahem. Anyways, back to the food. Like I said, McEwen does serve a lot of vegetarian meals, but that doesn’t mean they don’t serve ANY animal product foods. This is what was being served for breakfast the day I went in.

potatoes, scrambled and hard-boiled eggs, bacon, etc.

muffins and pastries! because the first thing you definitely want in the morning is a crazy sugar rush!

oranges and LOCAL NY APPLES. MUST. TAKE. MORE.

There’s also a bagel/toast station, a yogurt and fruit place, waffles, a huge variety of cereals… You know, your standard college breakfast fare.

I actually prefer eating breakfast in my room (yay for Korean cereal!) because breakfast tends to be really similar from day to day. But when I do go out for breakfast, this is what it typically looks like:

mixed fruits with a dollop o' yogurt and GRAPE NUTS.

with grapefruit.

Lunch is when they really mix it up. They have everything from stir-fry to different types of soup to paninis, and it’s never the same from one day to the next.

stir fryer

tomato vegetable soup with whole-wheat bread

huge salad with mixed greens, bell peppers, edamame, cucumbers, radish, mushrooms, beans, sunflower seeds, etc.

See those little red things on the left? They LOOK like tomatoes, so i took a bite of one…

AND IT TURNED OUT TO BE A HOT PEPPER. Oh jeez, I nearly my burned a hole in my tongue because of this thing. I tried to look really nonchalant while chugging glasses of water, but considering how I was hiccuping, hyperventilating and tearing up, I don’t think I pulled it off so well…

pilaf, tabbouleh, and bean-rice salad

This helped me cool off a bit.

And the buttload of fruit that I took from the cafeteria (again).

triple P: peach, plums, & pears.

See those little purple things? They’re golf-ball sized plums. I didn’t even know plums could come this small.

it's like eating a cherry - a bite-sized fruit with a pit in the middle

And of course, I stocked up on the apples. Fall = apple season, so I’m reaaally looking forward to the bushels of central NY apples that are bound to come my way. I’m actually addicted to those little Pink Lady apples – I’m not even kidding when I say I eat 5 a day. Which may not sound like a lot, but that’s in addition to all the other fruit that I eat in a day. AND I’m trying to hold myself back from eating them all at once. They’re dangerous I tell you, dangerous.

Well that’s it for this post, but don’t worry I’ll keep putting up pictures regardless of whether they’re about food or my college life in general. There’s still so much to cover, and  I actually have a bunch of photos from the Hamilton Farm to put up (EXCITING!!). I’m off to do homework now (no procrastination yet – woot!) so look forward to the next post :D

my plants :)

Discussion

3 thoughts on “dinin’ on the dark side

  1. min young ah~ nice campus!

    Posted by choi joon (yubin's dad) | September 4, 2010, 10:26 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: food for thought: protein day « you eatin' nice - September 19, 2010

  2. Pingback: Living the Barista Life at Cafe Opus « you eatin' nice - March 16, 2011

Leave a Reply

In the Past…

