//
you're reading...
other cities

Stuffed in D.C.–A Sushi Date with My Dad

About a month ago, I went to Washington D.C. for an environmental activism conference called PowerShift. From March 15-17, myself and a group of other Hamilton students learned how we could most effectively utilize our individual skills and resources to create change for the better.

It was pretty c0ol, but not particularly food-related. Which begs the question, why bring it up on this blog?

Well, those few days also happened to be the weekend when my dad was also in D.C. for a business trip – what an awesome coinkydink is that?? SUPER awesome, that’s what.

We hadn’t seen each other for over a month, so of course my dad insisted that he take me out to a fancy dinner.

DSC_1097

interior

He claimed that Yuraku was probably the best fusion sushi restaurant that he’s eaten at. I was hesitant about the “fusion” part because most sushi restaurants that try to do too much end up going waaaay overboard, serving weird and unappetizing rolls. But I trusted my dad’s sushi-sense, and agreed to try this place out.

DSC_1098

sushi bar

Yuraku is run by a father and son team; the senior is a traditionally-trained sushi chef, while the younger of the pair is the one who adds the funky spins and twists to each sushi dish.

It really didn’t look like much from the outside, being in the middle of a strip mall. But once we entered inside, I realized just how popular this place was – it was bustling, full of people ordering, delivering, waiting… and eating.

My dad and I decided to get the “Sunny’s Special” – it’s the chef’s special (the son’s name is Sunny), and although it’s usually served only on the weekends, the chefs made an exception for my dad because he’s a loyal customer :D

Because my dad held this place in such high regard, I was super excited to start eating. What I didn’t know was exactly how much food was going to come out….

Sorry if I blank out on some of the dishes – I ate most of these a while ago, and finals week means brain = mush. MUSH.

Anyhows, we started out with appetizers:

DSC_1103

Juicy and succulent, this was a rich way to start off the meal – can you guess what it is?

DSC_1113

SALMON NOGGIN’. I know, right? I was really surprised to hear my dad say that the head is usually the best part of the fish; but the cheek and the jaw area is where all the really good, fatty meat is. Who would’ve thunk?

DSC_1110

Mmm… Smooth and pudding-like steamed egg; one of my favorites. How can something so simple be so good?

DSC_1121

Definitely one of the more traditional dishes of the evening – sashimi with a drizzle of gochujang.

DSC_1124

Sashimi salad – pieces of tuna on top of greens with a sweet, tangy, sesame vinagrette.

At this point, I was getting an idea of what this meal was going to be like. See, “Sunny’s Special” is technically an unlimited, all-you-can-eat sushi smorgasbord. As long as you finish your plate, the Sunny will keep on sending out more sushi.

So pretty much, when you get the Sunny Special, you engage in a battle. That’s right, a BATTLE, I tell you. My dad and me versus the chef, duking it out to see who will come out victorious in this delicious, gastronomical showdown. Are you ready for this??

DSC_1135

Pieces of tuna wrapped around masago, perilla leaaves, and drizzled with a slightly sweet roe sauce; the sesame leaves definitely made this dish, giving the sushi a clean, peppery bite.

DSC_1131

A really Western-style dish compared to the rest of the meal; raw oysters on the half-shell, dabbed with a little bit of cocktail sauce and just a bit of a thin wasabi drizzle.

DSC_1141

The scallop sushi dish: whole scallops with a sweet, slightly-mustardy sauce (in the back) and scallop nigiri on top of wilted spinach (in the front).

DSC_1148

One of the most beautiful dishes of the night: a tuna “rose” on top of an asparagus “stem, served with a sweetish, black-bean (I think?) sauce.

You might have noticed that most of the dishes are not completely savory; in fact almost every single sushi that we were served tonight had some sweet aspect to it. It was different, but not unpleasant – chef Sunny somehow managed to strike the right balance between sweet and savory in most of our plates.

EXCEPT for this one…

DSC_1152

Shrimp and sprouts rolled in tuna, served with… STRAWBERRY JAM. Yeah. That was a little weird. I thought that for a sushi course, this one was waaay too sweet, and even a little bizarre. The other elements were too mild to really counter the jam, and it kind of overwhelmed everything.

DSC_1164

But Sunny bounced back on the next course: a mildly spicy tuna nigiri served with 2 different kinds of roe and a raw egg yolk – that’s the yellow blob in the middle. This was rich, but not in a fatty, oily way; it just had a luxurious mouthfeel because of the egg, and that really helped smooth everything out.

DSC_1170

Another unique sashimi; the bottom to this was a tempura-fried vegetable, which was topped with tuna, avocado, and roe, drizzled with a balsalmic reduction along with something else…

DSC_1177

Abalone sashimi; apparently, abalone tastes better when it’s NOT super fresh. If it’s actually allowed to age properly, like this one was, it develops a brinier and more complex flavor.

DSC_1180

picking and choosing

And then… my favorite sushi of the night:

DSC_1190

This was so unique and delicious. Instead of the traditional sticky white rice, Sunny actually pan-fried rice “patties” so they became toasted and really crunchy. On top of that, he put smashed tuna, APPLE, seared tuna, and HONEY. Remember what I said about the chef mixing salty with sweet? This was a perfect example of that; and with the textural contrast from the super-crispy rice, I was in heaven while eating this “nigiri.”

DSC_1197

looking before biting - you eat with your eyes first!

DSC_1205

FIE-YUHH

Seared white tuna; this one was a show-stopper. The waitress brought out a black plate alight with flames, to go along with the “seared” theme of the dish. The tuna that had been charred on the outside, but left raw in the middle was really delicious because of the temperature contrast.

DSC_1214

Another scallop dish; pure, unadulterated scallop with all of its smooth, delicious flesh.

As you can imagine, at this point, my dad and I were getting RIDICULOUSLY full. But we agreed to keep fighting; if we stopped now, who knew how many more delicious dishes we might miss out on? WE HAD TO PERSEVEREEE!

DSC_1224

Have you guys ever heard of monkfish? It’s a really ugly-looking fish, but its liver is actually the “foie gras of the sea.” I’ve never had real foie gras, but this kind of tasted like what I expected it would be like – really smooth and fatty, almost melting in your mouth.

DSC_1234

Another impressive-looking dish: the Titanic roll. Tempura-fried lobster tail with avocado, crab, tobiko, and cucumber.

DSC_1240

Uni served with halibut. I would like to tell you guys more about this dish, but honestly, at this point I was getting so sushi coma-ed that I could barely think straight…

DSC_1247

But wait, boy do I remember this one. This was another sweet sushi dish: deep-fried banana wrapped in unagi, or roasted eel. Sound weird? Trust me, this was another sweet-savory combination that chef Sunny hit out of the park. It was so goood…

DSC_1254

Deep-fried something, topped with banana, strawberry, and strawberry jam. Sorry I can’t remember this; I recall liking the textural contrast, but I don’t think this was one of my favorites. But can you tell that Sunny has been sending out more sweet dishes? I think he saw that the end was near and was heading to the “dessert” end of the spectrum.

At this point, my dad and I gave up. Threw in the towel. Called it quits. We really couldn’t go on anymore.

Once she saw that we were starting to slow down, the waitress came up to us and asked, “You guys can still eat more, right?” in that teasing, taunting voice, knowing we were too full to go on. Just look at how much we ate! Wow… It was a lot of sushi. I was honestly all seafooded out for the next couple of weeks after this meal.

So we told our waitress that no, we were done, and we were ready for the check. But she insisted on bring the dessert.

DESSERT? Jeez.

DSC_1256

As if this entire meal hadn’t been indulgent enough already, we were served deep-fried mango ice cream.

DSC_1261

To be honest, I didn’t like this that much. The concept is cool, but the mango flavor didn’t wow me, and the ice cream was rock-hard; we could hardly dig into it. We ate what we could though, and ended up staggering out of the restaurant, mourning our overly-gluttonous stomachs…

But I won’t lie, that was an INCREDIBLE meal. And for the amount of food we ate, the price was fairly cheap. And the popularity of this restaurant just goes to show how good it is. So if you’re ever in the D.C. area, definitely stop by Yuraku in Germantown; I promise you it’ll be worth the wait.

Yuraku:
19773 Frederick Rd
Germantown, MD 20876

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Stuffed in D.C.–A Sushi Date with My Dad

  1. I haven’t had dinner today.
    I’m dying…
    This looks incredible.

    Posted by Brooke | May 11, 2011, 10:00 pm
  2. This looks incredible! I miss you, see you soon!!

    Posted by Andrea Kang | May 29, 2011, 7:32 pm
  3. BY THE WAY, I was thinking of starting up my own cooking blog this summer hm…

    Posted by Andrea Kang | May 29, 2011, 7:34 pm

Leave a Reply

In the Past…

