//
you're reading...
CoOp

Eastern European Food.. What is it, really?

My friends, last dinner cook I encountered a dilemma that I’d never encountered before.

20120209-DSC_3258

According to the meal plan and the Sundays at Moosewood Restaurant cookbook, I was supposed to cook Eastern European food; a cuisine I am COMPLETELY unfamiliar with. What is Eastern European food anyways? Where’s Eastern Europe? Like, Eastern Eurasia? Or anywhere in Europe that’s not in the western half? Who? What? When?

Europe-Map5

So I Googled up a map and asked around to get a feel for where Eastern Europe was geographically. Aha… Those countries. The –ia’s (Latvia, Bosnia, Romania, etc.) and the other funny-sounding ones (at least in my mind). But really, what does anyone know about these countries?

There’s no use in trying to convince anyone that Eastern European food is wildly popular and delicious. Because no one will believe you. It seems that in Europe, the further you get away from the Atlantic Ocean, the less popular the country’s cuisine. In Spain, you have the famous paella, the citrus fruit, and other delicious seafood dishes; the British Isles, although mostly known for pub food, is shedding its reputation of boring, heavy eating and becoming more of a foodie hotspot; then of course France and Italy, which are the 2 gastronomical capitals of the world; and even Germany, with its spaetzle and bratwurst. But Ukraine? Poland? Bulgaria? What do people eat there? And seriously, what do people in Hungary do when they’re hungry (harhar..)?

To be honest, I didn’t know. And I still don’t know. So this dinner cook was especially challenging for me, because although I knew all the ingredients and how to cook them, in the end, I didn’t know what they actually looked like, or what they were supposed to taste like.

So I winged it. And it wasn’t half-bad.

Here’s the menu:

Trannsylvania Eggplant Casserole
Czechoslovakian Apple & Carrot Confetti
Creamy Hungarian Bean Soup
(Sorry there are no links to recipes this time around… all of these came from this Moosewood Cookbook.)

First things first: whenever you’re making dinner with beans in it, always start the beans first. They take the longest, and you need to take all the time you can get to make sure they’re fully cooked.

20120209-DSC_3260

I started up our monster pressure-cooker, pouring in a 2:1 ration of water and kidney beans.

20120209-DSC_3261

While the beans were cooking away, I prepped all the other vegetables for the soup.

20120209-DSC_3268

Like onions (what else is new?).

20120209-DSC_3280

Carrots.

20120209-DSC_3292

Garlic (so. much. garlic!).

20120209-DSC_3270

And leeks. Funny lookin’ things, aren’t they? They’re like giant scallions (i.e. green on the top, white on the bottom, mildly oniony in flavor).

A word of warning: leeks tend to have A LOT of dirt stuck in between the leaves, so you want to wash them extra-carefully. I go about doing this by slicing them down the middle.

20120209-DSC_3272

Then cutting them into inch-long chunks and agitating them in cold water. After a while, all the dirt stuck in between the leaves will float to the bottom, leaving you with clean leek chunks and a bowl full of dirty water.

20120209-DSC_3283

That’s how much dirt would be in your food if you didn’t wash it! Ewwww….

20120209-DSC_3304

I sauteed the onions and the leeks for quite a while.. It took a long time for them to soften up. When they did, I added the garlic, the carrots, and the spices (i.e. salt, pepper, and paprika).

20120209-DSC_3297

20120209-DSC_3305

After cooking the spices into the vegetables for a bit, the cookbook said to add some flour to thicken up the soup. So I did.

20120209-DSC_3307

Once the flour was cooked down, I added the now-cooked and tender kidney beans AND the bean water.

20120209-DSC_3308

Not looking very pleasant… But I just let the soup simmer for the rest of the dinner cook, continuously tasting and seasoning the soup as I went.

In the meanwhile, the Trannsylvanian Eggplant dish was underway.

20120209-DSC_3263

It started of with thinly sliced eggplant rounds that were oiled, salted, and peppered, then thrown into the oven for a couple minutes to precook it.

20120209-DSC_3288

20120209-DSC_3303

We also prepared a mushroom, onion, and tomato mixture for the casserole.

20120209-DSC_3295

20120209-DSC_3301

The eggplant and the mushrooms were then layered in between brown rice, cheddar, and egg, with a breadcrumb and parmesan cheese crust.

20120209-DSC_3309

I know, it sounds a little weird. And it was a little weird. But in a good way. Except it was still a little weird because we put the casseroles with the raw eggs into the oven, BUT FORGOT TO TURN THE OVEN OFF. We did actually get to bake them, but only for 20ish minutes, and needless to say the eggs were runny and not quite fully cooked. But I swear it was alright.

Once the soup was done and the casseroles were in the oven, the dinner-cooks and I worked on the carrot-apple confetti, which was a sweet slaw mix of grated carrots, apples, dried cherries, and an OJ dressing.

20120209-DSC_3311

Mmm.. a desserty side!

And the final, completed dinner looked like this:

20120209-DSC_3316

Not the most attractive plate of food. But I bet it’s some of the most colorful plate of Eastern European food you’ve ever seen. I’ll be honest, I wasn’t thrilled with the flavor of any of these.. They were well-received, and I thought they were alright, but it wasn’t anything particularly exciting for the taste buds. And some might say that it’s because Eastern European food in general isn’t very good, but I’m inclined to say that it’s probably because I have no experience as to what it’s supposed to taste like. And I’m sure there are foods from Eastern Europe that are an absolute delight to eat. But If I’ve never tried food like this, how am I supposed to cook it, let alone make it taste good?

A serious gastronomical dilemma, my friends…

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Eastern European Food.. What is it, really?

  1. I have to say you are incredibly ignorant. I am from Romania. And we have a very rich and beautiful culture and a very tasty cuisine. From what I can tell you chose the worst plate of food in Eastern Europe and tried to make it look like the best. The fact that you had no idea where Eastern Europe is just shows how poorly educated you are. If I had to guess , you’re american. I didn’t mean that as an insult to America as a country, although the american educational system SUCKS…you are living proof of that. Don’ judge a book by its cover and never judge a country by the news…

    Posted by eastern-european. | September 22, 2012, 8:09 pm
    • I completely agree, I am English and my partner is Russian, I have been studying Eastern European languages and cultures since I was 16 and have dedicated a large part of my life to Slavonics. I have found my partner’s and also his family’s cooking over the years to be absolutely delicious, with more colour and flavour than any english food I’ve ever eaten! – to name a few – stuffed peppers, Pelmeni, bliyni and borscht. It’s amusing how this person has taken such a vast area to judge! I have often found the cuisine of Eastern Europe to be very varied based on each individual country, and have found that southern Eastern Europe has many different styles and dishes that are completely different to that of the Northern parts. This blog is written by some wannabe critic, who says ‘Eastern European food in general isn’t very good’ with what reasoning? That he/she has picked at random and cooked a couple of recipes and decided to come to the conclusion that the whole spectrum of eastern European cuisine is not good? Interestingly, in Birmingham where I live , The 4th best restaurant in the area (of over a Million people!) is Polish! We go there many times during the year and always find their food no matter what recipe – to be flavorsome and colourful!! REAL critics, who have tasted the food cooked by REAL eastern Europeans have been blown away > http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2012/dec/23/polish-restaurant-karczma-birmingham-review
      The whole attitude in this blog is simply Ignorant and disrespectful, and I’m astonished at how you began this blog with a fucking map because you didn’t even know where the hell they were in the first place! I showed this to my partner and funnily enough he laughed, he didn’t even find it offensive – because you sound so uneducated he felt sorry for you. :)
      P.S EDUCATE yourself next time before you plague your baseless opinion around the internet and stop trying on cultures like they’re handbags!

      Posted by sarabanshik | November 14, 2013, 10:09 am
  2. Oh god that’s terrible…what the hell is that lol
    I live in between Tasmania and Transylvania (yeah it rhymes too) and I never heard of that “dish”…that dish is crap

    all you need to do to learn about cuisine is google “Poland cuisine” “Romania cuisine” etc. Nowadays everyone makes their own little blogs – just like yours – on blogger wordpress. it’s all to easy to find in today’s internet age

    I can understand you’re not accustomed Eastern Europe cuisine – but you act like you just landed from Mars “what? eastern europe? is that a car name or something?” seriously …and the dishes are absolutely terrible

    Posted by ARI | March 17, 2013, 9:03 pm
  3. Czechoslovakian Apple & Carrot Confetti? What the hell is it? There is no Czechoslovakia anymore… I am from the Czech Republic and I have never heard about that. In general, typical Czech cuisine is completely different from Slovak and includes Knedlik (dumpling, Knodel), pork, chicken or beef rizek (schnitzel), sauerkraut, and of course strudl as a sweet desert. Beer and various burt (sausages) is typical for pubs. Just google http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Czech_cuisine

    Posted by Toms | January 6, 2014, 3:34 pm
  4. Why don’t you go use the Internet for something useful like online beginners world appreciation course.
    It’s not a crime to be ignorant, stupid and sarcastic but you could use those talents in politics maybe…

    Posted by Wiktor Wiktor | February 15, 2014, 4:42 am
  5. I( am writing a book on some Serbian restaurants in Ohio. I’d like to quote from this, if I may.

    Posted by ron koltnow | January 17, 2018, 9:38 am

Leave a comment

In the Past…